Manja slova Veća slova RSS

SEECP - basic information

The South-East Europe Cooperation Process (SEECP) is a regional framework of cooperation initiated in June 1996 at the meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the South-East Europe (SEE) countries in Sophia, Bulgaria, with the objectives of promoting and strengthening good neighbourly relations between SEE countries and transforming the region in the zone of peace, security, stability, and cooperation.

 The SEECP has 12 member-states: the Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Greece, the Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, the Republic of Serbia, the Republic of Slovenia, and the Republic of Turkey.

The most important SEECP document is the „Charter on Good Neighbourly Relations, Stability, Security, and Cooperation in South-East Europe,“ depository of which is Romania. The Charter specifies that the primary objective of the SEECP is the strengthening of good neighbourly relations among the countries of the region by transforming the region in the zone of peace, security, stability, and cooperation through: strengthening of political and security cooperation, strengthening of economic cooperation and cooperation in the areas of democracy, rule of law, and combat against crime.

 The political framework of this process of cooperation comprises matters of security and stability, development of cooperation in the areas of economy and environmental protection, promotion of humanitarian, social, and cultural cooperation, as well as cooperation in the areas of justice, combat against organised crime, terrorism, drugs, weapons, and humans trafficking.

 SEECP meetings at the highest level attend, as guests of the Chairman, among others, representatives of the UN, EU, CoE, OSCE, RCC, and other international organisations.

 Apart from the meetings at the Head of State and Government level and those on the levels of Foreign Ministers and Political Directors, great importance lays in the Coordination Meetings of the SEECP Troika (current, preceding, and subsequent Chairmans), Meetings of the Representatives of the RCC and EC, and of the Presidents of Parliaments and representatives of Ministries.

The chairmanship over SEECP lasts one year, usually from June to June, and the Chairman is the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the presiding country. Since its establishment, the chairmanship rotated in the following way:


1996 – Bulgaria

1997 – Greece

1998 – Turkey

1999 – Romania

2000 – Macedonia

2001 – Albania

2002 – Serbia and Montenegro

2003 – Bosnia and Herzegovina

2004 – Romania

2005 – Greece

2006 – Croatia

2007 – Bulgaria

2008 – Moldavia

2009 – Turkey

2010/2011 – Montenegro

2011/2012  - Serbia

2012/2013 – Macedonia